Kuwait Bans Poultry Import from 5 Countries

Posted By: Selerant RSA

Kuwait Ministry of Commerce and Industry (MOCI) has applied a temporary ban on poultry import (live animals and frozen poultry meat) from five countries because of outbreaks of bird flu .

The countries from which Kuwait has banned the import are: United Kingdom, Canada, Romania, Hungary and Portugal for all kind of poultry products and eggs, unless they have been thermally processed (above the temperature of 70 C°).

However, the Ministry has lifted the ban on the imported products from Turkey, Bulgaria, Romania and India regarding all kinds of live birds, incubating eggs and day-old chicks. These products will have to undergo necessary tests at the Department of Animal health of Public Authority of Agriculture Affairs and Fish Resources (PAAAFR).

Interested in Gulf Countries? You can find information on recent bans on poultry introduced by Saudi Arabia here