Russia Extends Trade Ban to Salt

Posted By: Selerant RSA


Russian Government decided to limit the import of salt, by adding it to the list of food products, banned for import from the countries currently subject to the trade ban: USA, EU, Canada, Australia, Norway, Albania, Montenegro, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Ukraine, into the Russian Federation.

Resolution N 897 of September 10th, 2016 introduces the import ban on salt, including table and denaturized salt, pure sodium chloride, dissolved or non-dissolved in the water, with added anti-caking or free-flowing agents, and also sea water. It will become effective from November 1st, 2016.

In December 2015, Rospotrebnadzor banned import of salt from Turkey. This decision has now closed the Russian market for Ukraine salt, Ukraine being the biggest salt importer into Russia in 2014, 2015 and 2016.

Russian food trade ban was introduced in August 2014, then extended for one year in 2015 and in June 2016 additionally extended till the end of 2017. The embargo includes mostly meat and dairy products, as well as fruits and vegetables.

For additional information on Russian trade related issues, check Russia Food Import Ban: Baby Food Ingredients and Russia Extends Food Import Ban to 2018.